Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the passage, the station manager of KICK argues that the station should contain more call-in advice broadcasts in order to increase the number of listeners. This is based on the premise that this method also applied by WCQP radio station and assisted it to enlarge its listening area. Also, the manager cites a survey which is conducted in national level and demonstrates that many radio listeners are interested in call-in advice programs. However, on deeper analysis, it is apparent that certain aspects have not been considered, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

First of all, the manager claims that the WCQP radio station which implemented these proposed programs, it achieved to increase its listeners. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, it is possible this observed increase is the result of other factors like live radio broadcast from famous singers. Hence, the argument would have been more convincing if it explicity stated that WCQP did not make any other improvement to its program and thus its success could be attributed to call-in advice programs.

Moreover, the manager notes that a nationwide survey depicts an increased interest of listeners about these proposed programs This again is weak and unsupported as it does not mention what was the attitude of people in Rockville about these programs. If the argument had provided evidence that the listeners in Rockville prefer indeed these broadcasts then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

In conclusion, the manager’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the manager must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of detailed survey on the citizens of Rockville. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about the attitude of the citizens in Rockville at the nationwide survey and if they expressed interest for in-call advice programs.