The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue regarding the main benefit of the study of history and it supports that this is the acknowledge that contemporary people are not alternate to their ancestors. Indisputably, daily news are bombed by scenes of wars and cruel crimes which are depicting a savage behavior of modern people. Nevertheless, our modern societies have the privilege to live in well-organized environment with rules, legislation and respect to the human rights. Thus, I generally disagree with the topic of the claim and I would argue that main benefit of history is relative with the progress of learning the foundations of our modern social structure and which factors evolved it.

First of all, it is my personal belief that the study of history offers mainly a unique chance for learning-lessons. An unprecented basis of all the factors that assisted in the formation of our modern society. To illustrate, let us look at the period of the WWII which is without deny a historical event remarkable in history and its outcome determined the evolution of our world. By studying this part of history, one realizes that the passive attitude of England and France against the upcoming power of Adolfus Xitler in Germany, was determinant for the outburst of WWII.

Admittedly, the viewpoint that modern people are not so different finally in comparison with their ancestors has some credible value and evidence to be supported. For instance, the behavior of the members and warriors of Islamic State is representative and their cruelty and inhumanity is equal to the savage of Medieval era.

In conclusion, it is truth that the claim of the topic has a substantial credibility, yet the crucial and most important of the study of history is the thorough search and survey in learning-lesson in determine curves in the evolution of our society.