In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that Prunty County should follow the example of Butler County, improving its road network in order to improve highway safety as the measure of decreasing the speed limit was not effective. This argument is based on the premises that after the implementation of decreased speed, the car accidents did not present a decline and also the applied measure of enhancing the road conditions in Butler County was resultive. However, on deeper analysis, it is apparent that there certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw is the assumption that the enhancement of the road network in Prunty County will have positive result as the respective measure in Butler Company. Though, it is possible that the road condition in highway in Prunty County to be in a very good level and additional improvements may are waste of money and time. To strengthen his/her argument, the author should mention a report from the highway police department in Prunty County which would depict a possible endangered condition of the road for the drivers.

Moreover, the author is incorrectly based his argument on the premise that the declined statistics of car accidents in Butler County succeed despite the stable speed limit of 55 miles per hour. However, this argument is ambiguous as the car accidents which keep going to happen may is the consequence of high speed. To overcome this flaw, the author should make a reference to a report from the highway patrol station in Butler County which would cite explicitly data about the main causes of the car accidents depicting a minus contribution of the high speed to these.

The author also wrongly correlates statistics of car accidents among two Counties which each one is depicting a different chronological range.

After closer examination of the passage presented, it is apparent that there are several logical flaws. The recommendations in the essay show how the argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound.