The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the passage, the writer argues that the town council of Balmer Island should limit the permittable rents of mopeds everyday during the summer season from 50 to 25 per day. This is based on the premise that the same measure was adopted by the neigboring island of Seaville and led to a decrease in moped accidents. However, on deeper analysis, it becomes apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw is the assumption that the succesfull measure of declining the permittable rents per day which is implemented in Seaville Island will have the corrrespond sucess on Balmer Island leading to the decrease of moped accidents. The writer corresponds the two islands, yet he/she does not mention more specific information for the Seaville Island. It is possible that the infrastructure of road network in Seaville Island is far better that its in Bolmer Island and thus the measure lead to the wellcome result, In order to strengthen his/her argument, the writer should cite more data about the conditions of roads by comparing the current infrastructure between the two islands.

Moreoever, the writer's argument is based on the mistaken assumption that the number of tourists in the two island are almost equal. Though the writer does not mention any clue about the number of visitors in Seaville Island, which may be much lesser than the number of visitors in Balmer Islands. Also, the writer make a reference to the increase of the population in Bolmer Islands, yet he/she does not mention the permanent population to depict the grade of the increasement of population during the summer season. It is possible that the permanrnt population and and the tourists in Seaville Island to be much lesser and thus the measure of decline the available rents to lead in fewer mopeds accidents.

After closer examination of the passage presented, it is apparents that there are several logical flaws. The recommnedations in the essay show how the argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound.