Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Τhe characteristics of an effective political leader is always a controversial issue on the realm of political science. A vast portion of political analyzers assert that an effective political leader should present flexibility and adjust to the prominent view of society. Other experts in political science contend that in order to be a political leader effective should remain stable to his/her principles. It is my personal belief that morality and stability of a political leader are crucial to be effective.

It would be naïve for someone to refute the importance of flexibility and adjustment for a political leader. In this way, the political leader gain the support of the society and implement his/her strategy more effective without social disturbances. For instance, the recent victory of progressive political party in Greece according with credible political researchers,could be explained to the successful pre-election programs with social acceptable targets and measures even if some of them were out of the scope of the manifesto of a progressive political party.

On the other hand, when a political leader remains consistent to his/her principles gains sympathy of the society as the morality is always precious. With such an attitude, the political leader gains social acceptance and sets a profile of a stable and trustworthy politician. For example, Mega Thacer, the British prime minister in the nineties, insisted on her strong economy policy despite the serious social disturbances and reactions and finally her stable position was effective as her measures finally were implemented.

To conclude up, albeit the flexibility and the adjustment of a political leader are esteemed traits, the commitment to a list of principles and the stable attitude to them are the characteristics which attribute effectiveness to a political leader.