In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether a work of art has merit only if it is understandable to the majority of people. Indisputably, one requirement is the acceptance of the public when the experts are called to evaluate a creation of art. Nevertheless, the evaluation of a work of art is a multifaceted process and considers many factors which are more crucial than just the level of understanding from the side of the public. Thus, I generally disagree with the viewpoint that a work of art must be understandable in order to have value and I would argue that the merit of a creation of art is hardly to be estimated and contains many factors.

First of all, I would assert that many masterpieces of art are considered vague and obscure to their meanings and thus it is logical that many people are not able to understand their meanings. Consequently, the understanding of the artist’s creation cannot stand as a valuable qualification to evaluate the merit of the creation. For instance, one masterpiece in the art history is the famous painting Guernica by the Spanish painter, Pablo Picasso. However, this painting is so complicated and contains many obscure figures and it is impossible to grasp the meaning of them without the help of an expert in painting.

Admittedly, when the public understands the deeper notions and meanings of the artist, it embraces the artist and his/her creation and this public attributes merit and value in the creations of the artist. To illustrate, let us look at the example of the American singer Bob Dylan with his daily and common stories narrated in his songs, he touched the hearts of the American public.

In conclusion, it is my personal belief that the evaluation of a work of art is a difficult process and the merit of each creation is attributed by taking consideration varied factors like the technique of the artist or the affection to the other artists and not surely by considering just the easily connection among the work of art and the public.