The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of student housing at Buckingham College recommends on his/her memo the construction of new dormitories in the college. This is based on the premise that during the next 50 years the number of students will be doubled, on the assumption that the increased rent for an apartment will make it unaffordable for the students and finally on the assumption that the new dormitories will attract new students. However, on deeper analysis, it is apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw is the correlation with the estimated number of students after 50 years with the current dormitory space. If the current dormitories are adequate to accommodate the students for the up-coming years there is no need to construct something that it will be used after 50 years. To overcome this flaw, the director should provide specific data which would depict the emergency of the inadequate capacity of the dormitories the next years.

Moreover, the director is incorrectly based on the argument that the increase on the average rent for an apartment in city will discourage students to select an out-campus apartment. Though, it is possible, that the majority of students in this college to come from affluent families which have not any problem to afford this augmented expenses. In order to strengthen his/her argument, the director should cite more information about the financial background of the students.

The director also wrongly concludes that the new dormitories will attract new students. However, the majority of the students when they evaluate their options for their studies focus on the provided curriculum, the prestige of the college, the research and survey work of the professors and the high perspectives for immediate access to a profitable working environment. To render this argument more valid the director should make a reference to a recent study which would demonstrate that the attractive dormitories is a crucial factor for the students when make their final choices.

After closer examination of the passage presented, it is apparent that there are several logical flaws. The recommendations in the essay show how the suggestion of the director may be strengthened and made more logically sound.