Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue whether significant discoveries are accidental or they were the result of a directed research. It is my personal belief that the majority of the memorable discoveries and creations have occurred due to the remarkable tries of genius scientists who achieved to satisfy the goals of their scientific research. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that plenty of important discoveries are accidental and I would argue that the majority of the significant creations and discoveries are the outcome of targeted researches and experiments.

First of all, it is very vague for someone to assert that many significant discoveries are accidental. The evolution of science and its achievements in plenty of disciplines probably amplify the opposite notion, that the majority of the important discoveries is the outcome of specific and targeted researches. For instance, a crucial creation which achieved some years ago, was the massive production of the vaccine for the virus H1N1. The resultive and successful productive of this vaccine was the outcome of a longterm process with specific tasks and goals. In no case, one could assert that this important creation which saved thousand lives of people was an accidental creation.

Moreover, in some cases the purpose of the scientific research is so specific that it is hard to expect an accidental other discovery. To illustrate, let us look at the example of the creation of the atomic bomb by USA during the Second World War. The American government was pursuing instant results from the scientific team and thus the scientists planned and executed a very targeted research which had not place for further thoughts.

In conclusion, maybe it is truth that some discoveries are happened by chance, yet the majority of the important discoveries are the result of an complete research, comprised by theory and experiments.