Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that Omega University should abandon the current student evaluation of professors. This is based on the premises that since the implementation of professors’ evaluation the students’ grades have risen and the graduates of Omega University facing difficulties to get a successful job in comparison with the respective graduates from Alpha University, as the employers contend that these augmented grades are plasmatic. However, on deeper analysis, it is apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration leading to a number of mistaken assumption and logical flaws.

One such flaw is the assumption that professors assign higher grades in Omega University in order to gain a better evaluation of the students. Though, It is possible the augment in the students’ grades reflect the positive impact of the task of evaluation of the professors, getting them better at their courses, being more consistent and productive. Thus, this has a direct impact on the performances of the students reflecting on the higher grades. To strengthen his/her argument, the author should cite reports and censures from students who condemned a change of behavior of professors since the implementation of their evaluation.

Moreover, the author is incorrectly based on the assumption that the employers prefer the graduates from Alpha University due to the inflated grades of students from Omega University. However, a possible explanation is that generally Alpha University has more prestige and its graduates are desire assets for each company. To overcome this flaw, the author should cite a evaluation of Universities which would demonstrate that Omega University is ranked constantly higher than Alpha University.

After closer examination of the passage presented, it is apparent that there are several logical flaws. The recommendations in the essay show how the argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound.