Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the passage, the author argues that the declining of the deer population on islands in Canada is the result of the ice melting which covers the ice due to the global warming. This is based on the premise that the local hunters observed that the decreasing in deer population coincide with the current global warming trend. However, on deeper analysis, it is apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw is the assumption that the ice melting between the islands lead to the decline of the population of deer. It is possible that the ice melting obstacle the capability of deer to travel among island, though the author does not provide any clue that the migration of deer in northern areas is related to their reproduction habits. In order to strengthen his/her argument, the author should mention a research which would provide information about the necessity of cold environment for the reproduction of deer.

Moreover, the author’s argument is incorrectly based on the argument that the incapability of deer to travel among islands lead to deer to have inadequate fauna to thrive. However, the author cites that deer prefer plants in warm areas so the melting of ice in essence should be beneficial for their feed. To overcome this flaw, the argument should be enhanced with more specialized information about the fauna in colder areas where plains are covered with ice, and how important is for the thriving of deer.

After closer examination of the passage presented, it is apparent that there are several logical flaws. The recommendations in the essay show how may the argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound.