In order to vote in school elections in lowville, you need only be a citizen, have lived in the district for 30 days, and be over the age of 18. Concerned that the turnout at recent school elections has been quite low, with only about 20 percent of eligible voters coming to the polls, school officials have discussed changing the regulations to require that voters be registered with the board of elections, as they must be for a general or municipal election. They posit that voters who are registered are already committed to the electoral process and thus are more likely to come to the polls for school elections as well.

examine the logic of this argument by discussing what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

In the passage, the author argues that process of school election must be alternated and should mimic the process of general or municipal election. This is based on the premises that registered voters in the above elections are committed to the electoral process and it is possible that they will participate also in school elections. However, on deeper analysis, it becomes apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been considered , leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

First of all, the author readily assumes that the registered voters who participate in general or municipal elections will have the same willing to contribute in school elections. This is a mistaken assumption made with no much solid ground. For example, it is possible that these voters are totally indifferent to school elections and maybe they consider them a waste of time. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that the voters who participate in general or municipal elections are equally positive to participate also in school elections.

Furthermore, the author cites that school officials assert that registered voters in Lowille are committed to the electoral process. This is again a weak and unproven argument as it does not provide any evidence to demonstrate it. For instance, there is a possibility that the percentage of the voters who participate in municipal elections to be merely bigger of the percentage of participation in school elections. If the argument had provided evidence that the percentage of registered voters in municipal elections was significantly bigger than the percentage in school elections, then it would have been much more persuasive.

In conclusion, the school officials’ argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, the school officials must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey considering the actual posture of registered voters about school elections. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about the percentage of registered voters who participated in general or municipal elections in order to have a solid evidence to compare with the correlative percentage of voters at school elections.