In order to vote in school elections in lowville you need only be a citizen have lived in the district for 30 days and be over the age of 18 Concerned that the turnout at recent school elections has been quite low with only about 20 percent of eligible vo

The prompt suggest implementing a bold registration plan for school elections to ensure more voter are attracted. But the suggestion barely has any supporting grounds and also leaves several salient points unanswered. Let me elaborate in three main point:

At first glance, prior registration seems a sure way to make voters commit to the process however, there remains two underlying factors that must be answered: First, does registration guarantee decrease in election absenteeism? The writer must address this question by providing official survey and data from municipal or general elections since they are already existent and are chosen to serve as a model for school Elections. Secondly, adding this extra bureaucratic step would galvanize the public into stronger participation or would it be heavily detrimental to its original purpose? Since the participation is already low, mandatory registration might even dispassionate the tenuous voting participation.

Additionally, the cause for the public indifference is not examined. The writer must investigate what group of Lowville citizens are concerned by the school polls. If there aren’t many households with school age children in Lowville, the lack of interest can be justified. Moreover, the citizens may not be cognizant of the occurrence of these of these elections or misinformed on their importance; thus it is imperative to further study the pertinent facts about the eligible voters.

Lastly, the article’s only consternation is ensuring participation yet fails to gain any knowledge of possible deterrents. E.g. the pre-voting rights such as being a citizens might heavily narrow down the potential voters in case many of the residents are immigrants who already have a stake in town affairs but not a voice in its plans.

The writers views to whet public interest in local elections while lacking depth, is has merits. Should the author’s views are presented with further supporting evidence and be subjected to further scrutiny on more facets, they may earn a more sound reasoning for being processed.