Some people believe that success in creative fields such as painting fiction writing andfilmmaking primarily requires hard work and perseverance Others believe that suchsuccess mainly requires innate talents that cannot be learned

There is an old Persian saying that goes “a son of a thief always becomes a thief, a son of a lawyer always becomes lawyer”. While this is a common shibboleth in many cultures, many scientist today believe that there no ground to it. The debate of genealogy versus environment is inexorable but I find that the truth is not in the extremes since any person’s success is a juxtapose of their inherent talent and perseverance.

Many of the known iconoclast in creative field come from nondescript pedestrian households. Alfred Hitchcock, who revolutionized film industry with his unique storytelling and filming techniques, was born to a middle class family with his father working as a greengrocer, not an elite creative lineage; however that didn’t hinder him from becoming “the master of suspense” . In fact many of such prominent idols have given credit to their own tenacious endeavors, meticulous planning as well as a caring pedagogue in their early days.

On the other hand, our inherent creativity is shaped and gilded through individual experience and environment. Talent is often depicted as a crude matter like a plank of wood, education and hard work like a wood carper refine it into its final shape. Agatha Christie became the amazing novelist she was revered for after serving as a nurse in an apothecary during World War I, gaining her vast knowledge on plants and poisons which consequently permeated into her most exulted life works.

While it would be asinine to deride the impact of marvelous innate gifts in gaining success in any field, its importance must not be overly pronounced. Talent can give us a boost to become unique prodigies but for anyone with enough grit and courage to work diligently there is no hurdle insurmountable.