Some people believe that success in creative fields, such as painting, fiction writing, and

filmmaking, primarily requires hard work and perseverance. Others believe that such

success mainly requires innate talents that cannot be learned.

Creativity and hard work go hand-in-hand. Some people believe that success in creative fields come from a person's innate talent, while others suggest the opposite- success comes from hard work, perseverence and dedication. While both sides have strong practical and every day examples, it is clear that hard work and perseverence can take a person further towards success in the creativity world. Individuals may be born with a talent but also need to work hard and persevere to continue to grow their talent and find success. Therefore it is easy to conclude that in creative fields, whether a person is born with an innate talent or not, they need to practice and be dedicated in order to find success.

This essay will begin with an introspective view into people who are born with innate talents and where this had lead them. While watching an episode of Opera years back, this writer was stunned while watching a 4 year old child demonstrate that she can draw at a level of a trained professional in their adulthood. This child was born with this talent as her mom shared, and her love for drawing from an early age made her mother encourage and provide her with the support to grow her talent. If this child had been born in a home where her family did not support this talent, and did not encourage her to practice and continue to learn new skills, then maybe this child would lose these skills into adulthood, and stop drawing completely. This goes to show that although someone can be born with a creative talent, if they are not encouraged to work hard at it and practice, then that talent may be lost as the child grows into adulthood.

The child used in the example above demonstrates how hard work and perseverence is important to success, which is similar to how the famous basketball player Michael Jordan worked on his early career in basketball. Although basketball is a sport, it can be viewed a part of the creative world, for in order to succeed, one needs to understand their body movements like a dancer. Michael Jodran was not born with the innate skill of basketball playing as is proved by the fact that he was kicked out of his high school team for poor playing; Michael Jordan did not let this stop him from success and through hard work, practice and dedication to the field, he became one of the most famous basketball players in Northern America. His work ethic lead him to success, similar to that of the little girl in the Opera show.

Michael Jordan used perseverence to get to his goal of success, which is similar to many students one might meet on an Arts Campus. This writer's cousin went to Acadamy of Arts in San Francisco which is a school focusing on arts in the creative field. When this writer had a chance to visit the campus, there were many opportunities to ask students about their area of focus and how they became so successful. This writer found that every student, whether they said that they were born with the skill or not, stated that they worked very hard to perfect and succeed in their field. For example, my cousin came from a family of interior designers and she would follow her mother at work and always day dreamed about being one of her own as an adult. Once enrolled in the interior design program in her 20s, she struggled to keep up with the concepts that were taught as they did not make sense to her; she went to study groups, met teachers in office hours, and was eventually able to fully grasp each concept and graduate with an excellent portfolit. She now works for a successful interior design company in San Francisco and feels as though she has succeeded in her creative field.

In conclusion, innate creative skills as well as learned creative skills need hard work and dedication to go to a place of success. If an individual depends solely on their innate skill, they may not reach success in their adulthood due to a lack of practice and focus. If someone is not born with an innate creative talent, they can still find success through a lifetime of hard work and perseverence. In the world of creativity, it is important to rememebr that whoever the person is, success is tangible and accessible; this means there are no barriers to success in the art world when perseverence is present.