following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the presented argument contends that the sales of Whirlwind video games is likely to increase in the next few months due to a recent survey that allowed the company to make new games with the graphics that their supposed audience wants. The author comes to this conclusion by using an extremely flawed argument. Although the increase in graphics and the change in advertisement may help the company increase sales, the author's use of vague terms, lack of evidence and vast assumptions makes the conclusion impossible to validate.

To begin, the author of the argument claims the conclusion on a survey that is far too vague. This survey is the grounding for the authors main argument which proclaims that higher graphics are what video game players want and therefore once the company Whirlwind sells such games, the sales will dramatically increase. The concern with using this survey as the base for the argument is that there is no sample size explained, no age group defined, and no discussion of the timing of the survey. What if the survey was completed 10 years ago, before there was a decline in sales for Whirlwind. Additionally, the survey could have been completed by people who are not in the age group that the company will now start to advertise to, which they state is the age group of 10-25. The author needs to complete a new survey that uses an appropriate sample size, a representative group and needs to define terms with detail in order to use it in this argument as proof of the conclusion.

Additionally, the argument propounds that if the company focuses its new sales on the age group of 10--25, which is the age group that is most likely to play video games, then the sales will increase. This statement is an assumption that rests on no validity. The author does not state how this conclusion was discovered; was there an additional survey to find out the approproate age group? was the survey representative? With this statement disproved, the aurhor's conclusion appears again weak and flawed. The author should provide the reader with the proof for this assumption in order to strengthen the argument.

The author uses another assumption to back up the argument when assuming that the decline in sales in the past two years is due to the company Whirlwind. There are many more factors to consider and that need be addressed by the author to make this claim vaild. For example, what if in the past two years there has been an economic crash and unemployment rates are high? This could cause a decrease in sales for all non-necessary items. Also, what are the prices of the video games? Additionally, what if the videogames sold by Whirlwind have a higher price than other videogame companies and that is the cause of the decline in sales in the past two years. The author needs to define the terms used when it comes sales and provide the reader with specific numbers to prove the conclusion to be valid.

The author makes a fair attempt to argue that due to the survey presented, the company Whirlwind can make changes appropriate to increase sales. The last problem with this statement is that the author is predicting the future, which makes for a poor argument. What if these changes are made and sales do not go up because there is a competing company who sells the same games for half the price?

In conclusion, the author should address the flaws in their argument and correct them by adding defined terms, thorough surveys with representative sample sizes, and addressing all the alternative possibilities as to why the company has had a decrease in sales over the past two years. If completed, the author can have a strong argument with a conclusion that is easily validated.