Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The attempts to reverse the declining of sales situation of Whirlwind video games are indispensible. However, the writer's suggestion that the introduction of a game which provides lifelike graphic will reverse the current gloomy situation may not fulfill its aim.

A foremost assumption is that the survey does reflect the preference of the target group. According to the writer, the survey do not consider the disparity of game's inclination within different age groups. On the other hand, the upcoming game is designed for people ten to twenty-five years old. Despite the fact that such age-group constitutes a large fraction of all game players, the result of the survey is still unreliable since perhaps older players are more willing to fill and return the survey sheets. hence, unless we rule out the interference of ages, we cannot rely solely on the survey's result.

Granted, the survey does reflect the preference of the game's target group, we can not infer that targeted people are most likely to purchase the game. Just as the fact that we all favor diamonds, but we seldom buy diamonds, the preferences cannot be directly linked with consumers' choice. The games which provide lifelike graphics requires the computers to be most up-to-date. such computers must be of great value, while people in target group, who are mostly adolescents, do not have such pecuniary ability to buy them. hence, the sales of such games can be highly retarded by the prices of the up-to-date computers.

Moreover, the writer implicitly assert that the sales decline in the last two years can be attributed to the lack of game with popular aspects and inadequate advertisements. hence, the writer anticipates that once some new game is introduced and advertisements are extensive, the sales situation will smoothly increase, even dramatically. such a partial view may overlook underlying causes of the decline. perhaps the decline is engendered by the quality of the game rather than some superficial features like lifelike graphics, or the advertisements have consistently been extensive yet lacked accuracy, or consumers may get sated with the Whirlpool's themes and choose other companies. What's more, the decline in the past two years is aligned with the decline of the overall economy. As the refreshing of the economy, we may do not need to worry it at all.

In conclusion, the writer's proposition cannot be justified by its arguments. To show that such methods can indeed reverse the decline, the writer should perform a more profound investigation and carefully analyze its results.