TPO 45: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The fundamental change in the society makes experiences less substantial. Thus, parents tend to interfere less with children's lives. In the meantime, children are able to enjoy more autonomy over their own affairs.

In the past society, parents are key determinants of young people's life. Also, the societal custom restrict young people to abiding by parents' desicions. parents' control over young people used to even reach such propostions that it was consolidated into the rules and legislations. For example, the spouse used to be determined by parents without referring to the feelings of young people themselves, let alone behaviors or careers, which are supposed to comply with parents' opinions. The social phenomenon is not completely irreasonable. Considering social circumstances at that time, parents' experiences can assist young people in eschewing obstacles in life and succeeding smoothly. Therefore, parents played a pivotal role in the young people's life in the past generations.

Whereas, the staggering development in the current society makes past experiences virtually lose their significances in forecasting the future. When parents realize that their experiences do not apply to the real word, they are inclined to put less constriants on young people's alternatives. Meanwhile, young people recognize the possibility of the new world. they will not put emerging things in the obsolete perspective. By continous trying, young people will gradually have a good command of the ever-changing society. it perhaps accompanies with a serious of failures, admittedly. Yet the ability to make decision in the life is significantly improved.

Furthermore, the social custom encourange young people to get rid of parents' shield and make decisions according to their own thoughts in this day and age. Contrary to the strict prohibition of disobeying the parents, we have a more opposite attitude to the unconventional decisions. Since nothing in the world is carved in stone. young people are encouraged to evaluate and make decision with regard of others' opinion. perhaps these avant garde decision will become part of golden rules to follow.

As the aforementioned arguments have presented, young people today have more freedom and automony over their own life. A young person is more regarded as an independent individual rather than part of their parents.