The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine."Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey

Whirlwind video games is in decline. The company wish to bring up sales by improve graphics aggressive campaign targeting age 10-25. There is expected to have a sales hike.

The survey did not provide sample size, neither computer-tech-wise or target audience. Computer as a hardware varies greatly in performance, price and other economical related properties. Up-to-date merely means latest computer. However, at different price point, computers varies greatly. No previous survey recorded, many target audience may already have the newest, finest hardware, or very few have. Computer procession rate is such important indicator, but there is no survey.

Lifelike graphic is merely the first of many characteristics of a video game. Video games as an interactive entertainment, good video feed is one thing, other feed back such as music, good voice acting, ambient, narration and content appropriateness also important. Especially social justice factor, sometime media may be political incorrect and trigger social media outcry and sunk sales.

The target audience of the industry may not be the target audience of the gaming company or its titles. There might be a mis-match as whirlwind may produce some game more align with older/younger audiences. At the same time, introducing multiple titles in a short frame will cause internal competition, potentially mask the better titles released latest. For example, when a consumer has a budget for 2 titles, she may acquire the first 2 released sequentially. Even she wish to buy other games in the series, her budget of her fiscal year won’t allow her. This means low total sales for Whirlwind.

Conversely, from the information given, Whirlwind may really get the things right this time. Whirlwind is in a decline trend but not all sins are irredeemable yet. Whirlwind may need some tiny adjustment to make things right. From the western vs japan console war experience, graphics trumps everything. A video game can have low budget music, brain-dead writing, but multimillion triple-A graphics can make the dead talk.

Marketing in a highly competitive market requires only one edge, in Whirlwind’s case, graphic may just be enough. However, the market is murky, and all response is possible. Whirlwind may have several highly praised, critical acclaimed titles, but it is not a good market/sales indicator.