The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument seems well explained and logical at first glance but when we reached to the conclusion mentioned in last line, we found faults. The sales of Whirlwind video game are anxious with decrease in sales of video games. On the basis of a survey they concluded that with launch of lifelike graphics and most up to dated computers, the sells will likely to increase dramatically in the next few months.

Moreover, the writer considers basic assumption that the survey is appropriate, and the reasons are accurate for declining of sell. The selling of any product is one of the challenges because competition is very high. There are so many factors responsible for selling of product such as quality of products, need of product, availability, performance of seller and soon. It may plausible that the graphics are okay for customers but there are competitors which sells the same product in low-cost or the selling department is not active in selling. The company must analyses the difficulty in reduced sells of the video games.

Furthermore, mostly ten years to twenty-five years old people spend their time in playing video games. Among this age group most of the people don't have earning sources and they are depended on family for their needs. It is difficult for them to purchase the video games. If the Whirlwind launches the new graphics, then it will be costlier and more required up to dated computer system. In that case the sell of video game will reduce significantly higher that is now. Before taking steps, the company should understand the logical analysis.

Additionally, the sells will likely to increase dramatically means there is surety but the logics behind surety is not appropriate. It may be possible that in next few months there is not season of video games. People play video games specially when they are free from studies like in summer break or winter break and the author did not mentioned or considered the market conditions of next few months. To launch new product or strategies of sells the sells department should discuss market conditions and worst-case scenario of the products.

To sum up all, Whirlwind company just want to increase the sells again without any solid actions. They should survey the market and on the basis of analysis took the steps. The aforementioned reasons show flaws of the given argument shown in editorial of business magazine.