To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society is the union of similar people; they live together, share assimilates with each other, celebrate happiness together and also share darkness and problems. To understand the important characteristics of a society we have to find an important place which reflects the real imagery of society. I am not agreeing with the statement that to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities. Now a days the actual characteristics of society is found in small cities and villages. To justify my view lets discuss some reasons.

Firstly, the major cities are more developed than other small cities of the country. The major city is a cocktail of different culture and became difficult to understand actual culture of the society. For example, in India the major city like Delhi has so many different cultures, so it is difficult to understand most important characteristics of Delhi's society.

Secondly, the major cities were ruled by different rulers and each deviate basic characteristic of society so the major cities do not give proper information of society. For example, in India the Britain ruled for more than 100 years, due to which the influence of English man has been seen on Indian foods and clothing’s as well as on the rearing practices.

Additionally, major cities are getting developed speedily and the students became educated which affect society in different ways. The small example of influence of education on society we can saw that the small Dhabba's in India taken place by large hotels. In India the Dhabba's provide actual Indian food made up in pure Ghee; but, now people like to eat less oily foreign foods in large hotels.

Finally, to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must not only study its major cities, but also study the small villages and cities where actually the society lived in original way. Today the electronic inventions change societies very rapidly and influenced deeply to the culture of societies. In small villages the original cooking methods and social practices saved which give actual characteristics of society.