The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given article the writer talked about a nationwide study which conclude two statements. One of them is in ten-year the number of bicyclist wear helmet increased from 35 percent to 80 percent. Secondly during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. The writer feels that because of helmet the bicyclist take more risk and ride rashly and to reduce accidents the government should concentrate more on bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets. The assumptions are fallacious and writer needs to analysis it before jumping to conclusion.

Moreover, the study shows that there are 80 percent people wear helmet it means who wear helmet is safe from serious injuries. Secondly there are bicycle accidents increased 200 percent which does not indicate that people get serious injury in accident. The nationwide study presents survey data of two different situations which are not related to each other. One more important point which should be considered is the study has done in last ten years. In tenure of ten years there are different factors has been changed such as population, number of bicyclists, condition of road and many more. The writer must consider the validity of study before making it basis of argument. Number of bicyclists who wear helmet reached to 80 percent and still 20 percent don't use helmet. So, the government should encourage 20 percent people to wear helmet during ride.

Additionally, as mentioned above there are different reasons of road accidents, but the writer focused on helmet. There is need to analyze the accidents because it will help to find the reason. If maximum accidents happened in rainy season, then the bicyclist may have difficulty in riding because of slippery roads. These two are different things that increased in accidents and wearing helmet. The writer did not talk about number of serious injuries in accidents. It may plausible that there are less serious injuries in accidents due to helmet. The facts behind the argument is not clear so the conclusion made by writer is not likely to accept. The government should work on both aspects firstly work for road safety and another is to encourage people to wear helmet which help to save people from serious injuries.

Furthermore, the writer feels with wearing helmet people take risks more. This statement is writers feeling which does not have any solid facts, so we cannot agree with it. Other than it the writer also said the government should educate people about bicycle safety and ignore the driving of other vehicles on road. The accidents may happen because of cars and other heavy vehicles mistake and writer only talks about bicycle. So many times, we read in newspaper that truck crash the bicyclist or the car's rash driving hit a bicyclist. So, the government should work for road safety majors for all vehicle drivers not only for bicyclist. The writer assumes that with educating people about bicycle safety is enough to reduce to reduce bicycle-related accidents from 200 percent.

Finally, the writer assumed that with educating bicyclist about road safety is enough to decrease road accidents seems mistaken and the writer's reasoning for argument weaken because of above discussion. So, the government should collect strong evidences to decrease the road accidents related to bicyclist.