The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the given argument there is comparison between yearly revenue and expenditure of Humana university and Omni university. Nowadays, students took more enrollments in the online degree program at Omni university and nearby than classroom teaching degree courses and due to this reason Omni University decreases the expenditures on infrastructure. The president of Humana University wrote memorandum to create and start the online program like those Universities. With online program president predict that the budgetary difficulties will solve. The prediction and the argument on which memorandum is based are not convincing. There are following reasons to make my stance strong and prove the unreasonable thoughts of the president.

Firstly, Behind the increase in revenue there are so many different reasons, it is not necessary that online program is the only technique to increase enrollment in university. The president focused on online program and ignore other factors such as quality of faculty, infrastructure, syllabus, updating of the program and so on. The students took enrollment on the basis of program details and investment for the program. It is not appropriate to take decision only based on mode of program. There is possibility the Humana University lacked behind due to mentioned other reasons. Before starting the online program, it is important to understand the cause of the less enrollments this year.

Secondly, enrollment in online degree program increased by 50 percent but how many students completed and paid fees of the program. It may be possible that students enroll to book seat, but they completed the course is not mentioned in the argument. Humana University should analyses the reasons which decrease the number of admissions in degree courses because then only the university get the beneficial plans.

Finally, Humana University president think that the online program will solve the financial problem, but online program will also have expenditures such as broadcasting of program, trained faculty, and other technologies. The activation of the program takes expenses and it is not sure to get high enrollment in the program and there is no guarantee that expenses for classroom maintenance will reduced.

In conclusion, while the author proposes a plausible solution, it needs to be better analyzed and presented in order to fortify the recommendation of implementing the online degrees programs to solve the enrollment and budget problems.