Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The passage claims that whirlwind video games’ sales will increase due to release of several new videos games that provide features preferable by players. The argument presented by the author is false for three main reasons.

first, the information provided by the author does not mention enough information about the survey takers. The age group, sex, nationality, and overall character of the participants play a big role in analyzing the outcome of the survey and the overall usefulness of it. For instance, If the age group of the participants was between 20 to 25, we may see a higher influx in the overall experience of the game rather than ‘lifelike’ graphics. The sex of the survey takers may affect the results. due to influence by society to affect the preferences of males and females, the result will also be affected.

Furthermore, the author suggests that just because the games released by whirlwind have ‘lifelike’ graphics it will do good in the market. The claims is fallacious due to several reasons. one, the overall experience of the game is affected by many factors. one of which is graphics. The author did not mention any information regarding other factors, such as, storyline, multiplayer availability, and price. any one of these factors will affect the players’ decision to buy the games.

finally, the author mentions that whirlwind plans to release several games into the market with similar characteristics. This will make games from the same company compete against each other in the market and consequently affect the performance of the company negatively in the market. The players when presented several games with similar characteristics and presented experiences will have no reason to spend money on more than one game, making the development of several games a waste of money and resources.

To conclude, the author presumes that based on a survey conducted by video games players that ‘lifelike’ graphics will increase the sales of a video game. is based on false reasoning. For three main reasons, first, not enough information about the survey takers was provided. Second, ‘lifelike’ graphics is not the only factor when deciding to buy a video game or not. finally, release of similar videogames might be a waste of resources.