"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager from the tv station claims that in order to restore the past performance of the late-night news program and increase its profits. before clear assessment of the argument, three main questions must be answered. Until these questions are assessed, the arguement is severly weak.

First off, the manager is basing his claim on the assumption that businesses cancelled the ad deals solely because of the cuts of weather and local news. while that may be the case, several factors play into such decisions. For example, this decision may be influenced by an ongoing economical crisis that affected the the financial standing of the companies, therefore, decided to cut back on expenses ( ad deals for example). if the above example is true, the plan to get the format of the news program back to its original state will not be a solution to the presented problem.

Furthermore, the manager mentions that most of the complaints received by the station was concerned with the coverage of local news and weather. What if the complaints were addressing the quality of the coverage rather than the duration ?. It is possible that along the cut of the section time, a change in the team was made that severly affected the overall outcome of this segment. this problem may be solved my raising the budget of the said segment, without altering the new program's format. if this example is true, the manager's claim does not hold water.

Finally, even if the manager's presumptions are true and most viewers complain about the short duration of the weather and local news segment, the best solution may not be to go back to the original form. The station may shift its focus to other parts of the population to raise its viewership. For example, if the late night program devoted a section with news related to a specific group like young men and women, where in this segment several issued can be disscussed that young people may feel related to. this way the tv station can reduce the damage made by the cut to local news time by increasing the overall number of viewers from other sources. if this aforementioned example can be applied, then the claim made by the manager that the best way to restore viewers and attract new ones is severly weakened.

The mentioned claim made by the manager argues that in order to attract new viewers and reduce ad related expenses, the late night program should be restored to its original form. before this assumption is validated, three main questions should be evaluated and answered. For now, the arguement is flawed for the mentioned reasons.