TPO 41. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

There is virtually no disagreement on the significance of teachers in the future of society. Despite the fact that knowledge is given priority to by a soaring number of people, it does not necessarily mean that teachers are more appreciated and valued by society.

The scarcity of dependable source of knowledge contribute to the uniqueness of teachers' status in imparting knowledge. In the past, "hungry" students can only get access to up-to-date knowledge by means of teachers. Nonetheless, as the information circulation is facilitated, the irrplaceable position of teachers disappears into air. Thus, we are inclined to learn things on our own and cast doubt on teachers authority. Gradually, the importance of teachers is curtailed in people's mind.

Moreover, owing to the common sense in the past era that knowledge can make a remarkable difference on the future, parents used to interfere less with children's education process. however, the clash between teachers and parents is becoming a central issue in the contemporary pedagogical practice.By the development of economy, some parents receive little schooling but have attained success. such parents are apt to look down on the significance of schooling and regard social experiences and knowledge obtained from practice as the priority. this opinion is not completely incorrect, but is specious at best. children brought by such parents will receive double education, one from school, one from parents. The methods and ideas of these two education usually clash with each other. At this time, parents will at most cases criticize teachers for their rigidity or strictness. The status and importance of teachers are further diminished.

More importantly, knowledge valued today is largely associated with money, power or other direct repayment. however, teachers in school do not majorly impart employable skills. So there is a mismatch between most students' and parents' desire and the aim of pedagogy. SInce education is not simply a training directed to job marketing, but a lifelong process that changes one's value, taste, mindset , etc. Without acquiring the aim of education, students are inclined to blame teachers on their being impractical.

It is not an easy task to admit that teachers in the present society do not receive as much respect as they should do. but we still do not need to reflect on the old ages. What we need to undertake is to raise the awareness in the public to respect teachers.