Scandals are useful because they direct our attention on problem in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

The assertion that scandals can attract our attention effectively is justifiable in some sense. however, we must also realize the limitation of such concentration. The spotlight engendered by scandals can hardly serve as a positive phenomenon. In other words, the disadvantages of scandals might outweigh their advantages.

It is unassailable that the public is prone to be swayed by deliberately conceived scandals, since scandals are usually more intriguing than the fact. In virtue of the Internet, some scandals can disseminate through the world as a tremendous speed, which undermines future revelation. The attention around scandals may be the central issue of the common people's talks. For example, people are more interested in affairs around celebrities than those reform in politics or advancement in science, which is self-evident from the hot topic list on each social website. On the contrary, even if governors is announcing a policy closely related to people's everyday life, few of them are willing to read the government report. Thus, nothing can attract people more than scandals.

however, the attention on scandals upswings notably while declines drastically as well. people's attention never stops changing. At one time they may talk about the divorce of a singer, and then they will turn to invectives between two renowned actresses. The rapid emergence and disappearance mean the attention brought by scandals can never survive long enough to have an impact on critical social issues. scandals resemble more a type of recreation than a serious concentration of social attention. hence, with respect to the width and depth of attention induced, scandals are all but negligible.

Furthermore, the inaccuracy of information contained in scandals might defame celebrities, or even undermine social stability. The discrepancy between scandals and real-world accelerates their promulgation. however, such characteristic induces invidious people to make up fake news against their enemies. It is not uncommon that some famous people suffered from unjustifiable accusations, most of whom underwent hardship in their lives afterward. such attacks are infamous but the indispensable outcome of scandal promulgation. even worse, some foreign attackers may use scandals to obviate people's trust in the government. The fabricated stories about officials' lives are most likely to trigger the unease in the country, hence undermine the prosperity of the nation. The radical opinion of the public is easily begotten by scandals.

In sum, despite the effectiveness of scandals' ability to attract the public's attention, such focus is both transient and potentially harmful. hence, we should not squander scandals to attract the public. despite the fact that such attention is useful under a few circumstances, such as promoting reform in the immaturity of registration, calling for concerns for underprivileged ethnic groups, the scrutiny of scandals should be in a meticulous stance.