The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

While unbounded disobedience is detrimental to the development of society, the well-being of society will generally be uplifted when a large fraction of its people question authority. The suspicion to authority is the source of democracy, on which most the governments in the world relies on. In fields like science and arts, the question to former authority provides sources for future development.

The government's goal is aimed at the general welfare of its people. however, such aim cannot be smoothly attained. Historical accounts have reveal that under despotic reign, deception and frauds teem with the society. when the government's goal is altered by its governor, its people should have their right to disobey it. In the late 20th century, African Americans are discriminated in the United States, they cannot process equal rights with white men. The reform of the discriminative policy is initiated by social movement arising from the common people. The channel for disenfranchised people to express their inequality is a important propeling force in the societal development.

In the science society, almost each and every breakthough comes with questions and defiance. Since science is a arduous journey exploring the unknown world, and previous rules might only be a approximate version of a more general situation. once we set our feet on the ground that on one has ever stepped on, we then are obliged to break the chains from the authority. Sometimes it is an improvement on the old theory, which is more readily accepted by the authority. however, the paradigm shift, such as Darwin's evolution theory, is more aberrant in the old pundits' eyes, which would lead to a fiercer opposition. Hence, the bravery and determination of questioning the authority should be encouraged rather than extinguished.

Furthermore, the core of art's spirit is to abstain the old rules and embrace the new ones. once certain art form is generally accepted by the public, the pioneers, named as avant-garde, are to experiment brand-new art forms. The disobedience of artists is marked by the misunderstanding of their contemporaries. Few avant-gardes were publicly renowned before their death. On the contrary, in medieval times, only devious paintings are allowed, and any attempt to create an alternate form of painting was regarded as defiance to the Gods. The development of art was hinder for nearly a thousand years.

In conclusion, the well-being of society can be improved by questioning its authority. The defiance can inject new blood into a stagnant society and refresh the aura. On the contrary, a stifle on defiance will suffocate society's growth.