TPO 42

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The entrance into the technological era leads to the specialization and professionism of workers. instead of being a versatile person such as farmers who can cultivate multiple crops, workers nowadays tend to only be capable of what they serve as. From my perspective, it is not beneficial for their psychological health. As a matter of fact, specialized workers usually receive much less satisfication from their work.

It is easy to realize that specialized workers usually do the same type work all day long, which means they cannot receive positive feedbacks from work. what they do and their production remain unchanged. today is the exact copy of yesterday, and tomorrow is the exact copy of today. Their work can be practised by muscle meomory rather than thought. such a dull working condition will exhaust workers enthusiasm and aggravate their sense of resposibility towards jobs. Under such circumstances, working is a suffering instead of an achievement.

In contrast, a versatile worker's life is a kind of discovery. granted, he may not be as proficient as specialized workers, but he will always have oppportunity to swift his thouught. For example, after a day of packing the goods, he can then allocate the distribution of goods to facilitate future packing. By apply experience from other field into current work, versatile workers can make advancement on their workload. they can discover what specialized workers can never realize. granted, less proficiency means less production in a given time, but in the long term, versatile ones can even produce more. At the same time, the innovation process can bring much more gratification.

As a result, entrepreneurs should not lay all their emphasis on specialized workers. On the contrary, workers should seek more versatile jobs in order to enchance their sense of achievement. In a rapidly changing society, being a generalist means better ability to get accustomed with the emerging oppoertunity.