TPO 52 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

it may share absolute correctness to say, "rules apply equally to each and every one in the society." Nonetheless, for young people, there are a pile of addtional yet unnecessary rules to follow. these rule originate from seemingly the commonality of social cognition, but they indeed make young people shoulder surplus burden and restrictions.

From the most distant part of our memories, we have been inculcated the significance of study. it seems to be our inherent resposibility to devote ourselves to learning, mostly not for us, but for glory of parents or teachers. Here I have no intention to cast doubt on the benefit of learning. they are substantial for children's future, admittedly. however, it does not necessary mean that we should always give priority to grade oriented learning, especially for kids who have quantities of energy and motivation towards the outside world. however, in this day and age, a increasing competive atmosphere provides children no alternative but stifling curiosity and constraining children into repetive shoolwork. Gradually, it seems to be a common sense or a rule for children to be dedicated to grades and tests.

Moreover, besides restriction in studying, the young people are facing more criticism from the adults as well. The criticism includes various aspect, but the core clash stems from the generation gap. since the power of voice is not held in the emerging generation, some normal behaviors are considered as eccentric from the elderly people's standpoint. Plus, the older generation is trying to impose their values on young people. Perhaps these rules are not a restriction or a burden, but they neglect the development of society and swift in societal fibers. So, it is no wonder that the youth have the feeling of being confined and restricted.

Finally, the simplistic understanding of life aim restrict young people in the pursuit of money or status, with no consideration of whether they are fond of it. since the majority hold the view that only money and power represent success and despise those who do not achieve these, the young people have no chioce but to abide by the mainstream of the social values, which induce extra pressure on them.

As the aforementioned arguments state, young people today, despite the fact that they are living in a more relaxed society, are still confined and disturbed by the rules in society.