Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The dispute that whether corporations should undertake the social responsibility or focus on profits provided legally is highly controversial in the contemporary world. From my perspective, such two goals are not adversarial. Instead, appropriate methods of seeking profits by companies are indeed beneficial to the well-being of the societies and environments.

The corporations takes advantages of the social resources. Granted that such resources is exploited efficiently only after being accrued, such concentration still undermines the social equity. Thus, apart from making profits and undertaking legal responsibility, corporations are obliged to take social responsibility morally. For example, the factories based on woods are obliged to rejuvenate the forest ecosystem, and those which pollute the waters should help fishermen make their living.

Some may argue that in a highly competitive market, considering social responsibility is idealistic for a corporation striving for a living. If a corporation spare resources on taking social responsibility, it is more challenging for the corporation to keep pace with its competitors. hence, its shareholders and owners are most likely reluctant to consider the well-being of others, worrying their corporations will be left behind, or even suffer bankruptcy. such refute is sound superficially, however, it fails to realize the well-being of the society and the environment is not an impediment to its success. Regardless of the potential positive profile in the public, which will encourage prosperity, the well-being of society and environment is beneficial for the corporation's long-term development. however, in order not to fall into such pit of base competitions, affirmative legislation is required.

As a matter of fact, under most circumstances, pursuing profits in a proper way generally enhances the well-being of society. In a healthy market, corporations compete in a way that generally accelerates the development of this field. new participants will bring new techniques and lower the costs as well as prices. In the end, the consumers benefit from such competitions since they have access to goods with both high quality and low prices. In such practice, a win-win situation is achieved.

however, the assertion that the corporations only need to consider the well-being of the place where they reside is incomplete. Entrepreneurs are likely to move their factories to other countries, which are usually developing ones. over here, entrepreneurs are inclined to exploit underprivileged workers to maximize their output and jeopardize the environment over there for short-term revenues. In short, we should not restrain the boundary of its responsibility.

In conclusion, the well-being of society and the environment is aligned with corporations' profits under appropriate situations. however, we shall not presuppose the corporations will take their responsibility actively, in facing a highly competitive world. hence, the relation between the two issues should be dealt scrupulously.