A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

At first glance, the conclusion of the potential popularity is sound. however, a close examination of the arguments and evidence given in the article is mostly specious. To bridge the gaps and make the argument cogent, the speaker needs to address the following questions.

Despite the evidence that the consumption of seafood dishes has increased significantly during the last five years, it still remains obscure that how many dishes the residents consume every year. The significant increase could be explained by the possibility that few people used to consume seafood dishes five years ago, thus, a slight increase in the consumption leads to a relatively large increase in the ratio. before we could get access to the amount of seafood consumption, the size of the potential market is undetermined.

Moreover, before citing the conclusion of a national survey, we must question whether such a survey applies to the local market, i.e. bay city. it could be equally possible that two-income families in other parts of the country obscure the situation of such families in bay city. In addition, whether the survey reflects a long-term preference is questionable. such a result could only be the temporal proclivity, owing to the emergence of advertisement of healthy life and the proliferation of application which can order food on the cell phone. In addition, it could be equally possible that the overload work engendered by the boost of the economy, which renders workers have not time to cook in their homes. such a situation will disappear after the economy return to normal. before more details about the survey is provided, I remain skeptical about the result of the survey.

Granted the validity of the survey's result in bay city. The large percentage of two-income families do not directly lead to the fact that such a family will consume seafood dishes. Despite they eat significantly fewer home-cooked dishes, they may not choose to eat seafood due to its relatively high prices. The concentration on health does increase the possibility to consume healthy seafood. however, there are also varieties of healthy food that is much cheaper than seafood. hence, we cannot presume they have the ability to consume seafood in a large amount without information about their average income. Furthermore, we cannot determine whether these families are fond of seafood. Perhaps they do not like seafood or have never eaten it. Even if a majority of the two-income families are in favor of seafood, the article provides no information about the percentage of such families. it could possibly be that due to traditions in this city, few families are two-income ones. hence, the size of the market is still opaque. As for the cost, the speaker still provides no information. possibly the cost is so high that any investment into seafood is not reasonable.

In conclusion, the desire to make profits in seafood is understandable, however, the conclusion should not be hastily made. The speaker should investigate the current size of the seafood market and the desire as well as the capability of the local residents to consume seafood more directly to get a clear picture of the potential market. Additionally, the cost of the venture needs more thorough consideration.