ARGUMENT:

A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A research study about seafood reveals that 30 percent of the consumption is increased as compare to last five years in Bay city area. Apart from this, argument claims that in contemporary time there is no any specialize restaurant for seafood. In addition, most families get two income and they eat fewer home-cooked dishes as compare to last decade; but, with the same time they are more health conscious. Hence, restaurant that specialized in seafood is quite profitable. Stated in this way argument fails to mentions several key points basis on which it could be evaluated. The conclusion relies on assumption for which there are no any strong evidence. Hence. author's arguments are unsubstantiated and unsupported.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that most families have two income and they less likely to cook home made food. Therefore, they will come for the restaurant and enjoy the sea-dishes. This is merely an assumptions without solid background. But, it might be possible those people are vegetarian. so, they will not attend this new hotel, which specialize in seafood. Apart from this, argument direct assumes that those people are rich and due to that they spend more money in restaurants. It might be possible their two income is lower as compare to regular income of one individual in country. Therefore, it is a very weak and worthless argument.

Secondly, the argument claims that opening new restaurant will be benefited in future. However, arguments describe current scenario. It would be difficult to presume that particular trend will exists in future. Apart from that, popularity of the seafood based on the cook and chef, just staring to distribute seafood is not provide surity about popularity. It may be possible this hotel will cook special dish but it's test is mundane. Hence, this argument is again unsupported without any strong proof.

Thirdly, The argument claims that seafood popularity escalated about 30 percent as compare to last five years. Hence, it is worth it to invest in seafood restaurant. Consider the case in same area where vegan dishes also becomes the famous and its popularity increases about 50 percent. Now, it is more profitable if individual spend the money in vegetarian dishes rather than seafoods.

To conclude, the author's argument unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, author must provide more concrete evidences. Without plausible evidence, it is very difficult to judge the particular scenario. If author provide more relevant facts with respect to several critical points then argument becomes considerably strengthened. Hence, the author's arguments has a no legs to stands.