TPO 49. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

it has been estimated that on average, a person meets more than 300000 other people over his/her lifetime. it comes naturally the question whether it is more important to make new friends among all those passers-by or to maintain a small group of old friends. In my opinion, making new friends is always an exciting activity and is essential to happiness, because new friends may have different personalities, and may even help you more when you enter a new environment.

Firstly, new friends mean new possibilities. Everyone has a unique personality, and personally, communicating with different people has always been an exciting experience for me. For example, I once joined a volunteer group and helped out in a museum as a guide, where I met a lot of peers from different schools, having different hobbies and personalities. while we were resting after the work, I made a lot of friends among them. this kind of communication and exploration brings me real happiness.

On top of that, making new friends help one adapt to a new environment. Consider a typical situation: when one first arrives in a strange environment, may it be a new country, a new culture or climate, feeling uncomfortable is normal. If one is good at making new friends, he may find someone who is already familiar with this environment, or he may find someone else who is also new to the place and get over the difficulties together. For example, when I first entered my university I could not get used to the cold climate. However, I was able to find my alumni and make friends with them, who taught me to prepare against the cold waves by exercising regularly and getting enough nutrition. Thus, I was able to survive the tough winter. this clearly shows that making new friends can make one’s life easier and happier.

while there’s no denying that it is enjoyable and beneficial to make new friends, it doesn't mean that we should abandon our old friends easily. old friends are the fortune of one’s life, because they are who really understand you and know who you are. while one might have misunderstandings or even conflicts with new friends, one can always turn to old friends for help without any worry for anything. In fact, contacting one’s old friends once in a while to share news in life is also a necessity.

From what has been discussed above, we can draw the conclusion that the ability of making new friends increases the happiness in our life.