A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling

reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I agree insofar as certain common core curriculum would serve useful educational purposes for a nation. At the same time, however, individual states, communities and schools should be allowed some freedom to augment such curriculum as they see fit; otherwise, a nation's educational system might defeat its own purposes in the long term.

Setting up by a national core curriculum would have beneficial effects for a nation. first of all, by providing all children with fundamental skills and knowledge, a common core curriculum could help ensure that children grow up to become a reasonably informed and productive, which is obviously fundamental for the survival of a society. such curriculum also provides a predictable foundation upon which college administrators and faculty could more easily build curricula and select course matericals for freshmen that are neither below nor above their level of educational experience, Moreover, by doing so, all school-children are taught core values upon which any democratic society depends to thrive, and even survive-values such as tolerance of others with different viewpoints, and respect for others. All of above provide a good foundation for the higher education system of a nation.

On the other hand, a common curricuum(which might be an exclusive one at the same time) would also leas to certain undesirable consequences that might even outweigh the above-mentioned benefit. first, on what basis should certain course work be included or excluded, and who would be the final decision maker? In all likelihood, these decisions will be determined in the hands of bureaucrats. Chances are, what should and should not be taught to children will be determined by the quirky notions of those bureaucrats-notions that may or may not reflect those of most communities, schools, or parents.

Another side effect of an offical, federally sanctioned curriculum is that it would facilitate the dissemination of propaganda and other dogma, for is biased and one-sided nature may undermine the very purpose of true education: to enlighten. one can foresee easily the banning of certain textbooks,programs, and web sites that provide information and perspectives that the goverment might wish to suppress-as some sort of threat to its authority and power. Although this scenario might seem farfetched, a national curriculum might well serve as a trigger for such chain reaction.

Furthermore, the inflexible nature of a uniform national curriculum would preclude the inclusion of programs, courses, and materials that are of regional or local significance. For example, the state of canifornia requires children at certain grade levels to learn about the history of particular ethnic groups who make up the state's diverses population. A national curriculum might not allow for such a feature, and canifornia youngsters would be worse off as a result of their ignorance about the traditions, values and cultural contributions of all the people whose citizenship they share. imposing a uniform national curriculum would also serve to undermine the authority of parents over their children, leaving them with far less power to participate meaningfully in the decision-making process. this problem would only be exacerbated were these decisions left exclusively to fedral regulators.

Homogenization of elementary and secondary educatio would amout to a double-edged sword. While it would serve as an insurance policy against a future populated with illiterates and ignorances, at the same time it might server to obliterate cultural diversity and tadition. The optimal federal approach, in my view, is a balanced one that imposes a basic curriculum yet leaves the rest up to each state-or better yet, to each community.