The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement above and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how those considerations shape your position.

From the beginning of humankind, many wonderful ideas have been created by humans to allow us to live in the world we live in today. Many of these ideas arose from passion and many came from necessity. The argument presented in this example states that the best ideas come from passion for commonplace things which is not correct due to the complexity of the issue at hand, for example many great ideas have come from a place of necessity or a place that is not deemed common or even easily accessible.

In our modern world, people use cars to get from point A to point B. Without the creation of cars, we would still be using horses and buggies, so one could argue that The creation of cars was a great idea. Today the passion in the auto industry has lead to great ideas, including electric cars, which not only help protect the environment but is also more cost effective for the user in the long term. Although this idea came from passion for a commonly used product, not all the best ideas come from a similar place.

A place that is not considered common in our modern works is the Amazon Forest. From this land, has come many plants that have been used to make necessary medications. Those who discovered these plants and medication combinations may absolutely have had passion but not from commonplace things, which shows that not all the best ideas come from places that the average human being considers commonplace.

Additionally, passion is a strong word; many amazing ideas have come from a place of necessity versus a place of passion. If we look at homes that are built today, each should have smoke detectors and CO2 alarms. The creation of this idea has saved the lives of numerous human beings worldwide and therefore ha another great idea that cannot be looked past; in fact, necessity is the root of many of our greatest creations, including fire and tools, that have been used to push humankind to the place we are today.

It is also important to note that necessity and passion for commonplace things can go hand in hand. For example antibiotics came about from a place of passion and necessity, as many people were dying without them. Antibiotics were one of the best ideas to land on western medicine, as it has shifted the way medical care is provided. Before antibiotics, people were dying from infections in vast amounts. The desire of the creator to prevent these deaths, partnered with passion to discover a cure to this common cause of death lead created this great idea. Therefore without either passion or necessity, maybe this idea would have taken longer to have come about.

In conclusion, the best ideas come from not only passion but also from necessity from both common and uncommon things. Without these, human kind may not have been as successful as it is today in our modern world; all the ideas the bread from passion and necessity lead to many extraordinary creations allowing us to live in a safer and better world. In order to continue to have a better world in the future, we must continue to encourage and promote the creation of ideas in whatever capacity they stem from.