The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author argues that the birth orders effects the levels of stimulation on an individual. This is based on a recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys which showed that firstborn monleys produced twice amount of cortisol in comparison with their younger siblings in stimulating situations and also this has been observed in humankind. However, on deeper analysis, it becomes apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw is the corrolation among the syrvey in rhesus monkeys and humans. The author cites that firtsborn humans produce high levels of cortisol in stimulating stimulations, however without comparing these increased levels with the levels of younger siblings of humans like the study in rhesus monkeys. To overcome this flaw, the author should mention data and results from the comparison of levels between fisrtborn humans and their younger siblings in order to draw safe conclusions and make corrolations with the study of momkeys.

Moreover, the author is wrongly based on the fact of the increased level of cortisol in infant monkeys during stimulating conditions. The author assert that first-time mother monkeys produce higher levels of cortisol than other mothers who had already offspring. This is clue and it is possible an alternate explanation of the increased levels of cortisol in firstborn monkeys. Thus, the increased level of this hormone maybe is not a result of the stimulating condition but it could attribute to biological and gender reasons. To render its argument more valid, the author could provide a more specialized study which would cite more information about the relation among the rates of cortisol in mother and fist-born infant monkeys.

The author also is incorrectly based on the study of rhesus monkey about their levels of cortisol in stimulating conditions to generalize his/her conclusion. The response of each spiece in stimulating conditions is not denoted only from the level of the hormone cortisol and more aspects

After closer examination of the passsage presented, it is apparent that there are several logical flaws. The recommendations in the essay show how the argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound.