Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

This topic raises the controversial issue of what are the motivations of students in order to be focused in learning. Indisputably, the personal discipline of each student plays a fundamental role in the progress of learning process. Nevertheless, schools and colleges contribute to the learning progress of their students and bolster them with motives and rewards. Thus, I generally disagree with the viewpoint that learning is a basically a matter of discipline and I would argue that educational units play a crucial role in learning process of their students.

First of all, the educational institutions assist their students in learning by granted them awards. One common award is scholarships which is an enormous financial support for students especially in primary universities where the tuition fees are not affordable for the majority of students. To illustrate, let us look at the example of Columbia University which grants a full scholarship for the students of New York colleges with the requirement of course that these student will have graduated as first of their colleges. Thus, this motivation encourages and bolster the struggle of students to enhance their learning.

Moreover, educational institutions possess the knowledge to interpolate the learning process with the labor market. To illustrate, let us look at the example of California University. All these informatics companies who flourished in Silicon Valley have their eyes on the senior year students. They are looking for future and skilled co-workers who will grasp them and take advantage of their competitors. However, only the students who are indeed skilled and have graduated with an excellent degree could been desirable for these companies. Thus, a direct occupation after the graduation of course is a huge motivation to study harsh.

In conclusion, the personal discipline play admittedly a significant role in the progress of learning of students, yet its contribution to this process in comparison with the role of the academic institutions is minor.