The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The editor from a Central Plaza owner argues that the city should prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza in order the business which located there to increase their customers again. This argument is based on the premises that the last two years the number of shooppes is permantly declinining while the popularity of skateboard has increased and also the litters and the vandalim are more intese throughout the plaza. However, on deeper anlaysis, it becomes apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of logical flaws and mistaken assumptions.

One such flaw is the assumtion that the decline of the customers on the business in Central Plaza is due to the simultaneoulsy increasd polularity of skateboarding in the area. Though, it is possible that the decrease on the number of the shoppers could be a depiction of the disapproval and disapointment of former customers about the quality and the cost of the products of the stores in Plaza. In order to stenghthen this argumnet, the editor should present a research on the former shoppers which would demonstrate that the skateboading was the main reason which guided them to turn their back on the enterprises of Plaza.

Moreover, the editor incorrectly argues that the increased litters and vandalism throughout the plaza is due to skateboarders. However, this situation could be explained by the actions of bad rumored gangsters of the local rea who are prefer to hang around the Plaza at nights. In order to overcome this flaw, the editor should cite reports from shoppers and businessmen of Plaza which would demosntrate that indeed skateboarders bandalize the stores and around area and throw their litters out of the bins.

The editor also wrongly makes the assumption that a possible prohibition of skateboarding in Plaza will increase the customers of stores in Plaza again. Though, it is possible that former customers have found more interesesting markets in these two years and are so satisfied that they have no desire and enthusiasm to return to the stores of Plaza even if the skateboarding was the prominent cause which led them to change their.

After closer examination of the passage presented, it is apparent that there are several logical flaws. The recommendations in the essay, show how the argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound.