The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer argues that whether a business to be viable and profitable should have executives who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. This argument based on the premise that a recent study proves a correlation among the amount of sleep and the success of their businesses. However, on deeper analysis, it is apparent that there certain relevant aspects that have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw is the argument that that the amount of the sleep has direct impact on the performance of the executives. Though, the study in the business magazine does not mention any data about the working profile and background of these personnel. It is possible that this study may have as a sample prominent and prime executives who have distinguished among others with their skills. Thus, in this case, the amount of the sleep is not an indicator about the performance as less skilled executives probably will not be so successful with lesser hours of sleep.

Moreover, the study in the business magazine does not cite any information about the age of the sample. Maybe the majority of these executives are younger people and so they have the stamina and the endurance to complete their daily tasks even if they sleep only almost six hours per night. However, the majority of the business rely on executives with more working experience and a demonstrated route of success on the realm of business. These elder executives possibly would not be in position to work efficiently with a little amount of sleep.

The study also is not taking account the diet that people follow and their healthy lifestyle. In the condition that these executives prefer a healthy and nutritious diet and they exercise roughly daily, it is sound that these people can work efficiently albeit the little amount of hours. On the other hand, in the case that a executive does not prefer a healthy lifestyle, the little amount of sleep will often make him/her to perform poorly on the working enviromet as he/she will be tired and unconcentrated.

After closer examination of the passage presented, it is apparent that there are several assumptions. The recommendations in the essay show how this argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound.