The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues that if a business desire to prosper, it should hire personnel who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. This is based on a recent study among advertising executives which mentions that the executives who are sleeping less than 6 hours per night, they have enlarged profits margins and better prospectives for career. However, on deeper analysis, it becomes apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumtions and logical flaws.

One such flaw is the premise as an outcome of the survey that ececutives with no more 6 hours sleep per night have augmented potential for advanced salaries and prospectives for career. Though, it is possible that the sample of these ececutives may be consisted mainly by young and freshmen executives who have all the stamina and endurance to complete successfully their daily tasks even if they sleep only 6 hours at night. To render this argument more valid, the author should cite more information about the sample as the average of age of these executives. In case that the majority of these executives were elder, his/her argument would be more valid

. Moreover, the author is incorrectly based on the result of the syrvey to support his/her conclusion. However, the amount of sleeping time is not as crucila on the overall perfomance of an executive as the enhanced skills, a stong academic education and a valuable experience. It is possible that the sample of this syrvey to be consisted by prominent executives on their realm and their working perfomance could be explained due to their advanced skills and not by the amount of sleeping hours. To overcome this flaw, the author should mention more information about the qualities of this sample as their academic education and working experience.

The author is also wrongly based on such a minor sample to generalize his/her argument. The sample of 300 executives in a survey hardly can be evaluated as credible especially on the realm of business management which is overcrowded and

After closer examination of the passage presented, it is apparent that there are several logical flaws. The recommendations in the essay show how the argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound.