To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Metropolitan cities surely reperesent the majority of the population and they are a viavle source for the researchers who desire to delve into the dominant traits of a nation. On the other hand, prominent academics on the realm of sociology contend that the rural areas in the territory of a country are the vital place where someone could detect the most important characteristics of a society. It is my personal belief that the rural areas are the most credible source for studying the most dominant and representative characteristics of a society as they are a live museum of the history and the traditions of a nation.

It would be naive for someone to dispute the importance of the major cities in modern lifestyle and thus on the conclusions of surveys on the field of sociology. The modern overcrowed cities depict the modern lifestyle and the impact of the urbanization and the globalization on the lifestyle of contemporary people. For instance, if a University would like to conduct a syrvey of the most crucial characterists of modern american society, it would be necessary to include in its sample of survey the residents of New York, the epicenter of the political and sociological evolution in american history according with a recent puvlished research in the AmericanScinence magazine.

In contrary with the above paragraph, the rural areas are more vital for safe conclusions in such sociological surveys. This is based on the fact that rural areas are crucial part of the preservation of morals and ethics in a nation and consult a live place of tradition. For example, if some students are tasked to convey a research about the major characteristics of australian society, it would be deceptive for them to ignore the importance of Aborigins tribe, the firt inhabitnats of the island, before the colonization.

Moreover, the rural areas depict the history and the origins of a nation. It is true that nowadays the majority of the population live in cities, however these people come from rural areas and they just moved to cities due to the urbanization.

In conclusion, the major cities in a country of course provide credible informations and data about the characteristics of a society as they reflect the modern lifestyle. On the other hand, the rural areas are more crucial source of informations about the characteristics of a society as they are a lifeplace where the traditions and the history are preserved though the eras.