Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Τhe author argues that the new franchise of the chain of stores Nature’s Way in Plainsville will be proved a successful endeavor . This is based on the premises that there is a trend for success of these stores in areas where residents live a healthy lifestyle and the Plainsville is such an area as the demand for athletic equipment is high, the health clubs are full of customers and there are implemented educative programs for exercise at schools. However, on deeper analysis, it is apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw is the assumption that the new franchise will have success in Plainville because the company has correspondent success in other areas where residents prefer a healthy lifestyle. Though, it is possible that in Plainsville there are adequate relative enterprises which cover adequately the local demand. In order to overcome this flaw, the author should cite a survey from the local merchant union which would depict that the current local business cannot fulfill the increased demands of locals for healthy food.

Moreover, the author’s argument is incorrectly based on the assumption that the increased that the high preference of locals for weight training and aerobics classes is a guarantee for a potential success for the new franchise. However, the locals may are interested on exercise and be indifferent for a healthy nutrition products. In order to strengthen the argument, the author should make a reference to a local newspaper which could presented a local survey depicting the high interesting of local for healthy food except of being exercise.

The author also wrongly concludes that an implemented educative program at local schools will create conditions for future customers for the new franchise. Though even if the school program gives emphasis on healthy nutrition the result will not be so hopeful if the families of the pupils do not follow a nutritious diet daily.

In the passage presented it is apparent that there are several logical flaws. In the essay, the recommendations show how the arguments may be strengthened and made more logically sound.