The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the passage, the Board of Directors of Monarch Books recommends an opening a café in its store. This recommendation is based on the premises that this opening will attract more customers and the company will able to compete with Regal Books which recently opened its own café. However, on deeper analysis, it is apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw is the assumption that the opening of a café in the store of Monarch Books will attract more customers. It is possible that the royal customers of this company prefer their library of the quiet that enjoy in the store as selecting their adorable books. A possible café would cause a noisy atmosphere with a lot of disturbance on the customers who want their time to make the best purchase for them. In order to strengthen the recommendation, the Board of Directors should present a recent research among the customers who would demonstrate indeed that the majority of the customers are excited for a café in the store.

Moreover, the board is wrongly based on the correlation that the estimated decline on the population under age ten will lead to a decrease in the preference of the children books. Even if the population will really declined in the next years, the demand of books for children could remain stable or be augmented as the new generation could have as a daily habit the reading. To overcome this flaw, the Board of Directors should make a reference to a research which would depict a possible lack of interest in reading on the new generation as the majority of population under age prefer other activities like computer gaming.

The Board of Directors also is incorrectly concludes that the fact that also Regal Books opened their café create the necessity for the company to make the same step. Though, customers may evaluate the value of the book stores according with the variety and quality of the books and not the presence of a café.

After closer examination of the passage presented, it is apparent that there are several logical flaws. The recommendations in the essay show how the board’s suggestion may be strengthened and made more logically sound.