The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population underage ten. We predict that opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above given argument is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch books. The aforementioned argument states that by opening a cafe within the bookstore, more customers will be attracted, and Monarch Books can better compete with Regal Books, which has opened a cafe recently, which may seem to be logical at first glance. From my perspective, I believe that the argument is correct, assuming the suppositions were correct.

Firstly, to begin with, the author characterised the opinion of the board of directors of Monarch Books and asserts that Monarch Books has a considerable customer base even after being in the same place for 20 years. More people will come to the bookstore if they open a cafe. He recommends reducing the children's section to make room for the cafe. The author states that such a move will allow them to participate more successfully with their competitor Regal Books, who just launched a cafe. Based on the most recent national census, which appears to show a massive decline in the percentage of the total population under ten years old children, the author implies that the section for children's books is removed.

Secondly, to show what the actual percentage decline of children under the age of 10 is, the author has not provided any data. The nation as a whole is taken into account in the census. The data averaged across the nation might not correctly describe the behaviour in the city where the Monarch Book Store is located. Removing the children's section will also reject these possible customers. The author's claim would be much improved if he provided accurate data on the regional decline in the percentage of children under ten and proved that sales of children's books do not account for a large segment of overall profits.

Furthermore, according to the author, opening a café will allow Monarch to bring in more customers and compete more effectively with Regal Books, which just opened its café. A survey showing the customers' favorable opinion of the opening of a café, which he may have done or mentioned, would have significantly strengthened his claim. However, the author has still not made a link between the cafe's establishment and any customer's support for opening a cafe in the bookstore.

In conclusion, the author's argument for opening a cafe within the bookstore of the Monarch book may be correct. Yet, the author based a lot of assumptions before he made his proposal. The proposal is uncertain to provide the expected results in the absence of evidence to support the acceptance made.