People’s behaviour is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The above given statement is that, People’s behaviour is largely determined by forces not of their own making. I partially agree or disagree with the statement mentioned above. In the modern society we are living, to judge or get to know about the behaviour of people is by the forces and even by understanding their own making. In the following passages, I will elaborate on my reasons with examples to support why I partially agree or disagree with the abovementioned statement.

Firstly, let’s elaborate on the essay why I agree with the statement that forces largely determine people's behaviour, not their own making. In the society we are living in, most people's behaviour is dependent on the way they are being brought up. We must realise that a person's behaviours are affected by many events from their past. If a person has overcome all problems in his life, he will be happy and controlled around everyone. A person's attitude is a critical part of how they modify their behaviour. To a great extent, people rely on their surroundings or external forces before taking action. For example, let’s take my two schooling classmates as examples. One was from a low-income family, whereas the other was from a middle-class family. The one from a low-income family has many problems in his house where his father used to drink every day, and his mother just used to sit and watch it. And now he has become an alcohol-addicted person. And when we come to the perspective of my other classmate from a middle-class family who’s mother and father used to work very hard, seeing his parents, he studied very hard and now he is a topper in a medical university. By the examples I mentioned above, I can say that even some external forces affect people's behaviour.

Secondly, let’s elaborate on the essay why I disagree with the statement that forces largely determine people’s behaviour, not their own making. The crime rate indicates that some people break the law. They have decided to skip allowing external factors to control their behaviour. For example, students are regularly pushed to work hard in school to live a fulfilling life. Some students will respond to pressure while still performing well in their classes. On the other hand, some students won't be bothered by outside influences and will behave as they choose. Regardless of social beliefs, thieves will steal. Many argue that their behaviours were influenced by their poverty, their circumstances, etc., but in the end, the thief chooses to ignore all other alternatives.

Additionally, it might be challenging to define the term "behaviour properly." According to different perspectives, it has various broad definitions. However, "behaviour" often describes how a person reacts to internal or external forces. Being the most intelligent species, people have the liberty to make choices. People's actions are primarily influenced by their attitudes. A person's behaviour is not constant throughout their life; it changes.

In conclusion, from the aforementioned reasons and examples I strongly believe that we can partially agree or disagree with the above given statement that people’s behaviour is largely determined by forces not of their own making.