Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the passage, the author argues that the prohibition of skateboarding in Central Plaza will increase the customers of businesses in the plaza. This is based on the premise that there is a decline of the number of shoppers in Central Plaza while the number of skateboard users was increased. However, on deeper analysis, it becomes apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw is the reference on the businesses’ owners that the decline of the customers is due to the incline of the number of skateboard users. Though the decrease on the number of customers may is the result of high prices, low quality products and terrible service of the enterprises in Central Plaza. In order to strengthen the argument, the author should present a research in the area which would ask the former shoppers, the reasons that make them to turn their back on the businesses of Central Plaza. Such a relevant research would transparently depict if the skateboarding is the main reason to prefer now other businesses.

Moreover, the author’s argument is incorrectly based on the assumption that the increase of litters and vandalism in the plaza is due to the number of skateboard users. The author does not present any relevant data to support his assumption and may the incline of litters in the area is due to the increased number of teenagers in the area who hang around in the plaza and are not skateboard users. To overcome this flaw, the argument should cite certain facts that have been monitored by security cameras of enterprises which demonstrate that the skateboards users are really throw out their litters on the ground and vandalize the businesses.

After closer examination of the passage presented, it is apparent that there are several logical flaws. The recommendations in the essay show how the argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound.