The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the passage, the writer argues that the real estate firm, Adam Realty, is the superior firm in his/her town and advise his/her friend to prefer this firm whether he/she wants to sell the real estate quickly. This is based on the premises that Adams Realty has more argents than Fitch Realty, it presented twice revenues in comparison with Fitch Realty and with the assistance of Adam Realty, the author succeed to sell faster his/her own home. However, on deeper analysis, it becomes apparent that certain relevant aspects have not been take into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such flaw is the correlation of the number of the employees with the superiority of the firm. It is possible that Fitch Realty needs lower agents than Adams Realty due to the fact that its employees have a high-level education and are very skilled. In order to strengthen the argument, the author should cite a list of the average level education of the employees in each company and additionally their working experiences and skills.

Moreover, the writer’s argument is incorrectly based on the assumption that the twice revenue of Adam Realty in comparison with the Fitch Realty is a persuasive clue which demonstrates the superiority of Adam Realty. Maybe the Fitch Realty faced serious problems last year as health problems of the owner or destruction of the most crucial assets of the firm due to a natural phenomenon. To overcome this flaw, the argument should enhanced by presenting a research in local newspaper which compares the revenues of the two firms at least for a period of five years.

After closer examination of the passage presented, it is apparent that there are several logical flaws. The recommendation in the essay show how the argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound.