“Art does not exist unless it is shared; it requires both artist and audience.”

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim made above. use relevant reasons and examples to support your point of view.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether art can exist without audience. Indisputably, the presence of the public, who will laud or deride a creation of art is surely crucial. Nevertheless, art can be exist and without public as art is the depiction of the inner world of the artist in a kind of material. Thus, I generally disagree with the viewpoint that art cannot exist without audience and I would argue that art also can be apocryphal and mystique without the public acknowledgment.

First of all, one could assert that art is the expression of artist’s feelings. Surely, art contains the expression of the inner world of the artist and does not mean that it is necessary that this creation of art should be exhibit at public view in order to be considered as an productive of art. To illustrate, let us look at the example of the paintings in caves which founded in the area that flourished the civilization of Mayas in Peru. These masterpieces of art which depicted local Gods are created by ancient artists who did not want to exhibit their creations in public view. Thus, probably for thousand years these creation of arts remained unfamiliar to some audience, yet the lack of audience does not mean that also these paintings was not art for all these years.

Moreover, sometimes artful creations are created to be devoted elsewhere and not in the audience who loves art. For instance, precious icons devoted to Jesus and other Saints have created in vast orthodox monasteries. Some of them have never be exhibited in public view as the presence of public in some monasteries is prohibited. However, these icons of course can be considered as art, taking into consideration the greatness of similar icons which are exposed to the audience.

Admittedly, the audience is a determining factor in the interpolation among artist and public. The acceptance and the lauding of public is the power who bolsters the artists to continue to create artful masterpieces.

In conclusion, the existence of public is important in the existence of art,yet it is not necessary in order to be existed.