The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the passage, the manager argues that WWAC radio station should change its current rock-music format to a news and talk format. Stated in this way, the argument distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts and by providing weak evidence. In support of the above argument, the manager reasons that despite the population growth in the area mainly due to retired people, there is a decrease in listener numbers and also it has observed a curtailed interest for music at local sales. Thus, the station should apply a news and talk format which is increasingly popular in the area. However, careful scrutiny og the the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for his/her recommendation.

Fist of all, the manager readily assumes that the observed increasing interest from the side of the locals concerning news and talks is a result of the new residents of the city, the retired people. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, the increasing interest may is a result of the preferences of the people who live many years and are not new in the city. It is possible that new residents are totally indifferent for the local radio stations. Hence the argument would have been more convincing if it explicity stated that the retired people who live now in the city are indeed interested to hear local news.

Moreover, the manager points out that the decline in local music store is an indicator that locals are lacking of interest about music. This again is weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the decline at local music store with the supposed lacking of interest for music from locals. To illustrate further, it is possible that the servant at local store to be rude and very inconsistent with his/her service or people prefer the source of Internet as a mean of listening music.

In conclusion, the manager’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the manager must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by the way of a reliable survey among the local people of the area relative with their actual preferences about the music and the station. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about what are the main reason that local people seem uninterested for the station.