The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author argues that the council of Marple County predicts that the suggested measure of preventing the development of the current farmlands in the county will significantly increase the housing prices in Maple County. This is based on the premise that this common measure was implemented in Maple County fifteen years ago and led to a significant increase in housing prices in the area. However, on deeper analysis, it is apparent that certain relevant aspects of the issue have not been taken into consideration, leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

One such a flaw is the argument that due to the fact that the measure of preventing the development of farmlands in Pine County guided to the augmentation of the housing prices, this means that will happen equally to the Maple County. It is possible that these two areas present totally different rea-estate assets and thus the prices would follow a different range. To overcome this flaw, the council of Marple County should present a research implemented in Pine and Marple County, which would depict the common characteristics of the real-estate market and so it would be easily accepted the claim of the same impact of the measure.

Moreover, the council of Maple County is incorrectly based on the implementation of the same measure fifteen years ago. Though the market of real-estates is very dynamic and vulnerable to changes. The period of fifteen years is a vast period for this type of market to end up with valid conclusions. In order to strengthen this argument the council of Marple County should present a survey in a credible economic magazine which would present valid data about the equalities of the assets’ traits in these two markets and the stable situation despite the many years.

After closer examination of the passage presented, it is apparent that there are several logical flaws. The recommendations in the essay, show how the argument may strengthened and made more logically sound.